More than a cute outfit…

Disclaimer: this post started out as a little update in the Skirt Sports Ambassador group but quickly grew into something more.

The 2017 Skirt Sports Ambassador season began just a few short weeks ago. It’s expanded so much this year and it’s so exciting. Heck we even broke the internet and the company is switching to a new host to help speed up things for all the new skirt converts. 

This week I was asked a few times how I became an ambassador.  Most people mean well when they ask such a thing but I did have one person who was a bit shocked that a company would pick someone like me to be an ambassador. I mean let’s be honest here, I am not the fastest runner, I am not the most flexible person, I am not good at lifting I’m not even that great of an athlete honestly.  Even though I used to coach [swimming and lacrosse], I don’t coach sports anymore. I don’t have any sort of personal training certification heck I don’t even have a real job by societal standards.  So really, why would a company choose someone like me to be an ambassador for them?  I’m not completely sure honestly but here I am for my second year as an ambassador, and at the captain level for this year, so there must be something about me that they see that others may not.  I’m not writing this to brag or anything, I just want to share my story with you. 

A while back Skirt Sports did a photo shoot with some of the ladies in my Moms Run This Town [MRTT] group from Savannah, Georgia.  That’s when I first became intrigued by the company and signed up for their emails.  I didn’t buy anything right away because at the time I was pregnant with our 4th child [Mikey] and about to move from Georgia to Texas. I didn’t think these clothes were for someone like me. Yet then as the stories about these ladies that I ran with started rolling out…real stories, real women (now I get what they say “real women move” as part of their motto), I became more and more interested.  Even though Skirt Sports was founded by Nicole DeBoom and even though she’s an amazing well know triathlete, she’s real.  She’s more than her athletic accomplishments. She recognizes this in others as well. She recognizes that real women move and she has built an amazing community and company around that motto.  I am proud to now be a part of that community. 

After asking many questions to my friends who had tried Skirt Sports I finally bit the bullet and bought my first skirt, the poparrazi gym girl ultra.  When it first arrived in the mail I was still a bit hesitant but then I thought hey, I played field hockey all the way through college and knew what it felt like to run in a kilt with shorties underneath and I missed that feeling.  Let me give you a bit of backstory here that I don’t really like sharing because I don’t like this side of me being shown but I know how important it is to show it every once in a while…I was severely depressed when I bought my first skirt. I was so depressed that I couldn’t even see how depressed I was. I was at one of my lowest lows in life and barely recognized myself.  Heck, I had chopped off all of my hair in hopes that it would help bring some spunk back. Yet it didn’t.  I was in darkness very badly.  When I look back at pictures of myself from that time, even with all the compliments of how cute my hair looked, I never felt like myself. I felt like an imposter. I was faking it. 
If you knew me back in college you may know that my sophomore year I battled depression very badly. I was almost kicked out of school for not showing up to class and for failing one course and getting a D in another and plummeting my GPA, it was a 1.9 that first semester.  I wasn’t a 4.0 student but I was at least a Dean’s list student. I know that was almost 15 years ago now but I still think about it regularly because my coaches recognized that I needed help.  With the help of my coaches and teammates I climbed out of that hole and look fondly back on my time at Regis. So there I was about 12 years later and back down in a hole and longing for my team again.

I decided that I would start training in the gym girl ultra and use it for one of the legs in my upcoming capital to coast race. I was surprised at how well the skirt worked. No chaffing was a huuuuge bonus.  I bought a second gym girl ultra for C2C.  The skirts worked amazing during my legs of the race and I couldn’t talk enough about them. It was around that time that other friends started encouraging me to apply to be an ambasaador. So I did. 

I had no clue what to write on the ambassador application and asked Troy his thoughts. His response was classic, “I like how your butt looks in the skirts.” No joke y’all, I included that in my application.  Around the same time I found out that I was pregnant with baby Cinco [Audie] and in that same week we also found out that Troy would be leaving just a couple weeks later for a 6 month deployment to Africa. I plunged deeper into depression. 

When I went to do the OB paperwork for my pregnancy with baby Cinco the nurse recognized that I scored fairly high on the depression screening and that I needed help.  I finally said yes and agreed to start therapy.  Shortly after, I was accepted as a Skirt Sports Ambassador, and am honestly still a bit in shock.  2016 was an extremely difficult year for me. As I’ve said before, I cannot take medication because my body doesn’t process it properly and it does me more harm. So I have tried almost all other alternative therapies out there. Heck I even did some hypnotherapy sessions, which were some of my favorite sessions honestly. One of the things we discussed in therapy was to focus on the simple things. To just get dressed.  That’s it, get dressed.  We discussed my fitness and how important it was to keep active. OK so now all I had to do was get dressed in my active wear. So I did. I know, I know, it’s ridiculously simple, but when you’re battling your demons even what seems to be the simplest of things can be a huge accomplishment. So here’s where Skirt Sports comes in again; get dressed in my active wear and then go work out at some point.  I know it may sound trivial but it helped me out so much. I love how my skirts look. I enjoy taking the time to focus on something simple. I enjoy choosing a cute outfit. I enjoy putting on that outfit and love how it makes me feel. Heck I liked it so much that as you know, I chose to wear one of my favorite skirts and sports bras as one of my outfits for my maternity photos! 

 Not just the the clothes but the encouraging community behind Skirt Sports, all the other real women, they may not know it, but they helped me out of that hole.  I’m not saying that life is all fine and bright and dandy now because honestly, it’s not. I still struggle. I still have days where it takes every fiber of my being to just do the little things but it’s so much better than it was before. 

When the outfit shown above arrived at my door today, I felt the need to share a bit more of my story with you because even though this is a ridiculously cute outfit, it’s more than that.  I am very thankful that Skirt Sports saw something in me, and chose me to be a part of the ambassador team.  I’m more than my athletic accomplishments, I’m more than a mother of 5, I’m more than the wife of an active duty solider who is yet again on another assignment away from his family, I’m more than my depression…I don’t know exactly how else to describe it than to say it all adds up to be me. Beautifully flawed, real, me. 

Leave a Reply

