Super Yummy Scones

First off – HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Welcome to 2017!  I’ve been doing ok in the resolution world the last couple of years and have been trying to keep things realistic and in check.  I’m not perfect by any means but I am happier with the results.  Last year I had a goal of reading at least one book a month and I ended 2016 having read 67 books and started about a handful of others.  In 2017 I’m upping that to 2 books a month and hosting a book club called Read, Run & Ramble (more on that later).  A new goal/resolution for 2017 is to get back to writing.  I have been in therapy for a while now [pregnancy with baby Cinco was mentally difficult and having a husband who is active duty in the Army doesn’t help – more on all that later as well] and one of my “assignments” has been to journal; so in 2017 I “resolve” to get back to writing for pleasure as well and blog at least once a month.  So here’s my first blog for the new year.  Ladies and Gentleman I present to  you my recipe for Super Yummy Scones!

If you’ve read any of my other recipes you know I’m not a traditionalist, I like to have fun and experiment and substitute and sometimes things flop and sometimes things are on point phenomenal – I personally believe my scones recipe is phenomenal.  In this post I’m going to give you the base recipe and toss in some variations as well.

Anyways, I went to River City Produce on New Years eve and stocked up on way too much produce.  Luckily I had some team #nosleep running buddies to share with but I still had a plethora of fruit left for my own family.  So I got experimenting and bought a food dehydrator [more on that later or else I’ll get way off task – I am THE Rambling Mom you know?  I have a tendency to “ramble” sorry not sorry]…anyways, this is why I made some scones.  I took an old recipe I had and made it my own.  Enjoy:

blueberry-scones

Ingredients:

1/2 cup milk [I use 2% you can use whatever you have heck if you’re an almond milk drinker try that and let me know how it turns out]

1/2 cup yogurt [I like to use blended vanilla but have also used greek and even sour cream will work]

2 cups all-purpose flour [can be white, whole wheat, a mix of both; if you haven’t gotten the point yet, have fun and experiment with it]

1/2 cup sugar

*1 scoop protein powder* [this is optional but I will say IF you use protein powder use a pea based one, I’m a personal fan of Vega one.  There’s something special about vegan protein powder that makes it very baking friendly – I like to add protein powder in because my kiddo with Autism, Tedy, he doesn’t eat much protein but he will devour these scones so it makes me feel a bit better as a mama]

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp cinnamon [sometimes I forget this and it’s ok]

1/2 cup butter [aka a stick of butter – USE THE REAL STUFF THIS RECIPE SAYS BUTTER NOT THAT MARGARINE CRAP!] it’s best if this stuff is super cold so even if you have butter in the freezer use a stick of that if not just use it straight out of the fridge because you’re going to grate it

1 1/2 (heaping) cup of blueberries [variations: 1 cup chocolate chips + 1/2 cup coconut flakes hell you can even toss some instant coffee in the dry mix to make it mocha again have fun here but don’t short change yourself on whatever you choose make sure it’s a HEAPING 1 1/2 cup]

melted butter to brush the tops if you want

icing (I’ll give that recipe at the end)

Directions:

  • preheat oven to 400F & line your cookie trays with parchment paper (usually a couple of trays)
  • in a small bowl whisk together the milk and yogurt
  • in a larger bowl (think whatever you use to make cookies in) combine: flour, sugar, protein powder if you want it, baking powder, salt, baking soda, cinnamon if you have it
  • grate in your stick of butter to the powder mix – you do not need a pastry cutter dough blender thingie if you don’t have one I honestly just use a fork and butter knife to mix the butter in…you want your dough to look like it has little peas in it, like a crumble
  • add the milk and yogurt mix to the big bowl, I just take my fork and keep stirring and stirring as I pour this in, you don’t have to mix too much just blend it in nicely you want the dough to still have a crumbly look to it
  • fold in the berries or chocolate chips or whatever scrumptious filling you decide on
  • the beauty about scones is that they don’t have to be perfect shape wise; you can either scoop heaping tablespoonfuls onto the parchment paper lined cookie trays or you can slap down some flour on your counter top and ball up the dough a bit, flatten out and take a pizza cutter and cut it into triangles however you please – I like big ol scones so I just cut it like a standard pizza and put the triangles on the trays (note: it may still be crumbly and THAT’S OK]
  • brush the tops of the scones with some butter if you’d like but you don’t have to – heck you can put some of that fancy big crystal sugar on top too if you want at this step, whatever floats your boat
  • bake for 15-20 minutes depending on the size of your scones – once they’re golden brownish you’re golden 😉
  • remove from the oven and let cool for a bit.  Ice now or later, whatever you want or heck you don’t even have to ice them just ENJOY!

EASY PEASY ICING RECIPE:

This icing recipe is a joke it’s so easy and you can use it for anything else that calls for icing so here’s the deal grab a small bowl and add a cup of powdered sugar,  add about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and then stir in 2-4 tbsp milk depending on how thick or thin you like your icing.  Mix it all together and viola you’ve got icing for your scones or other treats.

Well, I hope you all enjoy this scones recipe; hubs is not happy with me for sharing it haha he likes that it’s been a well-kept secret until now.  HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

