I’m NOT Super Mom

People keep telling me I’m Wonder Woman or Super Mom or that I need a cape (implying some sort of Super Hero status).  I’m not.  Yes I have a whole gaggle of stair-stepped little kids (ages: 8, 6, 4, 2 and new) but I’m no Super Hero.  I get mad.  I scream.  I cry.  I feel worthless and unworthy of the life I have.

I usually roll my eyes when people pay this compliment to me.  Super Hero status is just something I can’t accept.  I think ‘If only they knew the darkness then they wouldn’t say such things.’

I can accept that I’m a mom but that’s about it.  I can’t even believe that I’m a mom of 5 some days!  If you told me 10 years ago (heck 5 years ago even) that I would have 5 kids, I would’ve rolled my eyes and laughed (lots of eye rolling going on).  Me?!  No.  2, maaaybe 3.  4? hahaa.  5?! heck no!

Yet here I am, 5 kids and no cape.  They say, “I don’t know how you do it.”  I think, ‘I don’t know how I do it either.’  I usually don’t reply to these things.  I just do it.  It’s my life.  It works for me somehow.  Even though I don’t feel worthy of this life, I do love it.  Even though I can’t believe I have 5 kiddos I do adore them (and luckily they adore each other, even if they fight at times).

I struggle.  I need help and I rarely ask for it because it hurts my silly pride at times.  Yet I manage, and have been learning to ask for help when I really need it because I’m not a Super Hero and I can’t do this alone.  Luckily I have a good side kick of a husband, and that makes a world of difference.  I’m a Batman fan personally but we aren’t Batman and Robin or any other famous Super Hero pair…we are just Liz and Troy with 2 girls and 3 boys.

2 thoughts on “I’m NOT Super Mom

Leave a Reply

