Homemade Dishwasher Detergent (part 1)

A friend recently posted about making her own homemade dishwasher detergent. This has been something that I’ve been going back and forth about doing since I started to make my own laundry detergent and really like that. I only had a few tabs of my dishwasher detergent left so when I went to the grocery store today I decided to pick up items to make my own instead of buying more. The recipe is very simple and inexpensive.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/034/14670511/files/2015/01/img_7633.jpg

ingredients:
• 2 cups borax ($3.97/box – you should be able to get a couple of uses from one box)
• 2 cups arm & hammer super washing soda ($3.97/box – again you should be able to get a couple batches from one box)
• 4 packets lemon koolaid (12 for $1 for the store brand version which is the exact same as the name brand so like $0.08 eachish)

Combine all of the ingredients and put into a mason jar or I just put mine into my old dishwasher tab holder container thingie.

After the first load of dishes I can say it worked; the dishes look just as clean as usual. You use a tbsp of detergent per load of dishes. I now have a tally going and I’ll check in again with more results after this batch is done.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/034/14670511/files/2015/01/img_7649.jpg

Side note: we have hard water here and I’m not super picky about some spots because of it I just wipe down my dishes before putting them away because of that water flaw that’s beyond my control. However if you are picky about it then I suggest getting a rinse aid as well.

PS – I still strongly dislike doing the dishes.

Leave a Reply

