Eggs DeLise

I really miss eating eggs. When Troy and I were dating and both in Grad School at Vandy I would often drive to his apartment in the morning, make us breakfast and then walk with him to school (that’s how I saved money on a parking pass). Well a couple of years down the line I had to stop eating eggs because I found out I was allergic to them so that means the classic Liz DeLise egg sandwiches I used to make are a thing of the past and well I rarely make eggs anymore and as you can see by flipping through my recipes, many of them are egg free or give an egg substitute option. Well, recently there was a tragedy in our Army community and since we are all family the food train was called into action. I volunteered to bring an egg casserole and the recipe below is what I ended up coming up with. It’s easy and also great to freeze and reheat for a quick breakfast in the mornings. Troy has dubbed these lil guys “Eggs DeLise” – ENJOY!

IMG_5013.JPG

ingredients:
For the base:
• 2 eggs
• 1/2 cup milk
• 1/2 cup bisquick mix

For the top:
• 8 eggs
• 1/2 cup milk
• 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
• a couple slices of deli ham, shredded
• a squeeze of mustard
• a dash of Italian seasoning
• a pinch of pepper

directions:
• preheat oven to 400
• lightly grease a muffin tin
• in a medium bowl whisk together the ingredients for the base
• in another medium bowl whisk together the ingredients for the top
• add a heaping tablespoon of the base to each muffin tin

IMG_5010.JPG

• add about 2 heaping tablespoons of the top to each muffin tin

IMG_5011.JPG
• bake for 25-30 mins (until the top is golden brown
• cool before removing from muffin tin
• Enjoy!
• you can also freeze these in portions and reheat like you would a muffin so for about 30 seconds – a minute depending on your microwave

IMG_5012.JPG

Leave a Reply

