Lactation Cookies

I know I know it’s amazing I’m actually sharing a cookie recipe! Most of my friends get frustrated with me because they really like my cookies but when they ask for a recipe I say “I don’t know I really just toss stuff together” which usually I do so for this recipe I had to actually pay attention to what I was doing so I could share it with y’all.

ingredients:
• 2 cups flour
• 1 tsp baking soda
• 1 tsp salt
• 1 cup butter, softened
• 3/4 cup sugar
• 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
• 2 tbsp ground flax seed meal
• 2 tbsp brewers yeast
• 1/4 cup (vanilla) Greek yogurt
• 1 cup oatmeal
• 1 (heaping cup) chocolate chips

directions:
Preheat oven to 375
Honestly I basically toss in the ingredients as I go. Personally I start with the butter and make sure it’s nice and soft. Then I mix in the sugars, baking soda, salt, flax seed meal and brewers yeast. Then I add the Greek yogurt (you could use an egg or 1/4 cup applesauce as an alternative as well). Then I add the flour, oatmeal and chocolate chips.
Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.
Bake about 10 mins (depending on your oven may need only 8 may need as much as 12) or until golden brown. Cool and ENJOY!

I typically make them in batches of a dozen at a time and then roll and freeze the remaining mix. Since my cookie dough is made without eggs you can happily eat it uncooked as well.

I hope all of you breastfeeding mamas enjoy these cookies as much as I do. To you non lactating mamas just take out the brewers yeast and ground flax seed meal. Actually you could leave the flax seed meal in if you want since it’s rich in fiber and a few other good things.

FYI flax seed meal was super easy to find as most grocers carry it in their baking goods aisle. Brewers yeast however was a bit more of a challenge to find and I searched high in low in whole foods for it and finally found it in the supplements section but man it’s pricey at $20/can. I’m told you can find it cheaper at other places and even GNC carries it. So check your area to see if you can find it for less.

20140718-135202-49922880.jpg

One thought on “Lactation Cookies

Leave a Reply

