It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Ok ok I confess I’ve started decorating for Christmas! See typically it’s a Liz DeLise rule to not do anything until advent and at the absolute earliest pull some stuff out the day after thanksgiving. Yet for some reason this year I just couldn’t resist and have caved. My justification is that we are now less than 30 days out from Christmas, so it’s cool. The itch to decorate started with my neighbors across the street and them putting up Christmas lights. Jokingly I called him “Clark” [if you don’t know that reference is from the classic comedy National Lampoons Christmas Vacation then shame on you and go watch that movie NOW] because he started decorating in early November, honestly their yard isn’t that bad it’s cute but now the nickname has stuck (sorry, not sorry). Well, all of that made me turn even more to Pinterest and let me tell you, my Xmas board is chock full of pins! Then Sophia kept bringing up “Sparkles” her Elf on the shelf [strict rules there she only appears in December] and since she’s on break from school this week we decided to pull out the Xmas decor. We started by taking inventory aka the kiddos making a ginormous mess! Yet then we got to work and decorated the downstairs landing.

20131126-232230.jpg
Then we started prepping the portal. You see the portal is actually going to be our pretend fireplace since we don’t have a real one and is where we hang our stockings. I came up with it last year when Sophia was concerned that Santa wouldn’t be able to make it to our house since we didn’t have a chimney.

20131126-233324.jpg
It still has more work but we will get to that more later.
I’m glad Sophia helped me to cave because we discovered that most of our lights had gone kaput! Since we had a snafu with lights we decided to move on to other projects. Sophia must’ve read my mind or snuck a peak at my Pinterest board because she wanted a snowman countdown calendar. We haven’t made that yet but I did scrounge up some scrap wood and did a couple of Snowmen projects for the front yard.

20131127-000141.jpg

20131127-000156.jpg
This is the closest to building snowmen that I’m going to get since we live in the Deep South where snow simply doesn’t stick around long enough to accumulate to the point where you could build a snowman.
Well, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas around here and I’ll be sure to post more as the decor goes up.

Leave a Reply

