Cloth Diapers Challenge – Day 3 – an interview with my Dad

Here we are on day 3 of the cloth diapers flats and hand washing challenge Hosted by: Dirty Diaper Laundry

I’ve been debating all day what to blog about and I finally decided to interview my Dad. I mean there are a ton different topics I could talk about but I wanted it to be different, I wanted to show you another side that I don’t often hear about.

• Q1: How were Nancy & I diapered?
Nancy was all pampers because we stocked up on them before she was born. We started you with cloth diapers and we used cloth diapers at home and pampers when traveling. We used plain diapers that you fold and pins, no covers.

•Q2: What were your initial thoughts when you learned I started cloth diapering with Ceci?
I thought it was a good idea because of all of the problems you had with Sophia & Tedy [diaper rash] and I remember seeing that. But I thought it was still the same with the pins. All I could think of was the old fashioned way. Then I saw all the different stuff when I came to visit and it’s gotten very advanced than what it was 30 years ago. I was surprised at all of the changes and it looked a lot easier especially without the pins but those snap things [boingos] and all the covers. I see that you don’t have the diaper rash problem with Tedy anymore and don’t have that problem with Ceci.

•Q3: What are your thoughts about this weeks challenge?
Oh I think it’s interesting. I know you hand wash because you did it last year when we went camping. It relates to how people used to do things years ago when that’s what people had. It doesn’t seem difficult for you since you have the [Stemen] scrubber.
It’s not surprising [that 1 in 3 families in the US can’t afford to diaper their children] I think it’s good [the challenge] because what you’d spend on disposable diapers – disposable diapers are not cheap and you could get a dozen cloth diapers and some covers, simple stuff, even wash them in a sink if you had to.

•Q4: How’d you feel changing Ceci’s diaper?
Well it brought back memories but once I figured out how to fold it, and those what do you call those [boingos] were much easier than those stinking pins and fighting with the pins, much safer too. It was a little more complicated than just slapping on a pamper but I figured it out.

•Q5: What suggestions would you have for other grandparents/ older folks when you mention cloth diapering?
To explain to them the difference of what it is now to what it was when we did it. With all the covers and the boingos and to have someone like you who does it to explain it. Yet there are still people who are against it because of the smell but you have those wet bags. Some people I think are just lazy and that’s why they’re against it. Yet if they’re properly educated it isn’t so bad and you can see that.

The big thing I noticed when talking to my Dad is how much he disliked pins! Also how he likes the different covers that are now available. The point of this post was to show you that “even an old dog can learn new tricks” and that things have changed. Also, you don’t have to buy disposable diapers just because Grandpa is watching the kids; instead take a moment to educate them on your system.

Leave a Reply

