Don’t be negative about your job on Facebook!

There’s a very fine line with work and the social media that you should not cross. If you check my Facebook profile you won’t see my work history. Actually I never posted my résumé on Facebook because I’ve been on Facebook since the early years when only college kids could have an account. Of course it’s changed a ton since then and now you’re “out of the loop” if you don’t have a Facebook account.
My current job title is Stemen Household 6 – to break the Army term down for you – I am commander of my household (yes I put Stemen because hey everyone else in the house has that last name) aka I am a stay-at-home-mom or homemaker, whatever you want to call it. I used to work full time and even during my roughest times I never bashed my place of employment. It’s just not a good idea. Whining about your job day in and day out or posting negatively about your commander in chief (if you’re in the military or are a government employee) is just not a good idea! I have known people to lose their jobs because they whined too much about them on Facebook and word got back to the employer. There are also stories of soldiers being chaptered out because of the negative things they post on their accounts. So please folks stop! Be thankful you have a job and truly if you don’t like it then try to find something else; I know that’s easier said than done but at least focus on the positive of your day.

One thought on “Don’t be negative about your job on Facebook!

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I understand the occasional vent, but everyday? Not only are you asking for trouble at work, a lot of people don’t want to see you post negativity every single day. Multiple times a day

Leave a Reply

