Homemade Pizza

20130212-112014.jpg
Our family loves pizza! It’s a meal we can all happily agree on. Troy and I used to get take out pizza or frozen pizza all the time. Then I started realizing that we weren’t feeling so good after we did so I decided to start making my own. At first I would buy balls of dough at trader joes but alas we do not have that store here. Even so I realized that I could easily make my own dough and it would super cheap to do so as well. Personally I have found my good ole Betty Crocker cook book to be the easiest to work with. Plus I’ve successfully substituted gluten free flour in as well. Ok so here it is:
Ingredients:
• 1 cup flour (all-purpose but don’t use self rising and like I’ve said I’ve used gluten free before too)
• a couple more cups of flour (you’ll see why down in directions)
• 1 tbsp sugar (ok I’ve omitted this before and truly didn’t notice a difference)
• 1 tsp salt
• 1 pkg or 2 1/4 tsp dry yeast (doesn’t matter can be regular or quick active)
• 3 tbsp olive oil
• 1 cup very warm water

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix the 1 cup of flour with the sugar, salt and yeast. Add in oil and warm water. Beat with electric mixer (I ❤ my KitchenAid) on medium speed for 3 minutesish, frequently scraping bowl. Stir in some more flour until dough is soft and leaves sides of bowl. Place dough on lightly flours surface. Knead dough for 5-8 minutes until it's smooth and springy (that parts like a workout). Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rest/rise for 30 minutes.

I am a personal fan of thin crust pizza so the next step is to heat your oven to 425. Divide dough in half and roll out. I personally use a pizza stone then you top as desired and bake for about 10-15 minutes.

Another thing I like to do is make up a bunch of dough and divide it up and individually package and freeze for use another day. What's great about pizza is you can put various things on it. One of the pizzas in the pic above was a meat pizza and the meat was leftover meatloaf from the night before. The other pizza was a new one for me and it was delish! A lil bit of olive oil an minced garlic as the "sauce" then some spinach, sliced tomato and feta cheese. Yummy!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

