Green Mama – Part 1: These are my confessions…

I’ve been formulating lots of other blog posts about being a “Green Mama” yet before I reveal any of them to you I think it’s extremely important for me to come clean! I will be the first to admit that I am not perfect! Also this is what we are doing, it works for my family and you may find that some of it works for your family but in no way do I think anything less of you because you’re not like me. I have a tattoo of a snowflake and I love snowflakes because no two are exactly the same and that’s something we often forget no two families, no two people, etc are exactly the same! We are our own unique beings created by God! So therefor I think it’s extremely important to find a proper balance that works for you and your family! Don’t worry so much about “keeping up with the such and such family…”
These are my confessions…
In 2008 my friend Michelle & I had baby girls. Our Sophia was born in January and three months later they welcomed their baby Delaina into the world. Michelle and Adam cloth diapered Delaina and had a diapering service and Troy & I made fun of them. Yes sorry Michelle I love you but I’m coming clean and confessing that I thought you were a nut for cloth diapering! I also confess that I wish back then that I asked more questions about cloth because we battled severe diaper rash with Sophia until she was potty trained! Even with Tedy when some moms at Sentara’s breastfeeding support group talked about cloth I didn’t pay attention and we still had diaper rash issues etc. That’s why I say “third times a charm” with cloth diapering Cecilia. I was fortunate this time around to have my friend Amy that was so open to talking about it and advocating for it. Even after I took the Cloth Diapering 101 and received my C4EB (cloth for every bum) package I’ll admit that I was still running out to buy Tedy pullups! I’ll go into more cloth diapering details in another post but I just wanted to come clean so that when you read about my new passion for cloth you’ll know that I wasn’t always this way!
These are my confessions…
I’ve been an on and off vegetarian and struggle with food as well!
These are my confessions…
I’ve driven places when I know perfectly well that I could’ve walked and I’ve also aimlessly driven just to get my kids to nap!
These are my confessions…
I often go to bed with my TV on!
These are my confessions…
I’ve thrown recycleables away!
These are my confessions…
I’ve “wasted” food!
These are my confessions…
I love the convenience of online shopping and amazon.com prime membership benefits!
These are my confessions…
I like chick-fil-a and Dunkin donuts!
These are my confessions…
I’ve bought things because “they’re on sale”
These are my confessions…
Sometimes my primary motivation isn’t because it’s “earth friendly” but because it’s less expensive and is a game to me! The best example I can give of this is how I often don’t turn lights on until Troy comes home and complains that he can’t see anything because I am playing the “how much money can we get back this month” game with the housing folks. I’ll be sure to explain that game in more detail in another blog post because it is unique to living in military housing.
Ok I think I got the big ones out of the way and it’s just a glimpse into how I’ve “changed” as a person. “The more we know the better we do” and I really hope you enjoy my upcoming blog posts and find the balance that works for you and your family!

Leave a Reply

