Pinteresting Part 3: I DON’T HAVE ANY TIME TO COOK!

In my opinion “fast food” meals should be an extremely limited meal option for the family.  One year for Lent I gave up fast food and did great even after Lent…until I moved down South and was surrounded by all these new and amazing places I had never seen before such as Sonic and I honestly wanted to go to Chick-Fil-A because of the Ben Fold’s Song, Army (actually, every single time I go to Chick-Fil-A I sing in my head: “grew a mustache and a mullet, got a job at Chick-Fil-A…” and think of my best friend from High School, Christina) and so after a few month, I gave in.  I will admit that we’ve had our slip-ups with fast food and that we aren’t always perfect but we are very conscious about it.  A side bar of my New Year’s resolution (how you doing with yours by the way?  I know it’s mid-March and most people have given up by now so this would be a great time for you to reflect on how your year has been and if you’ve slipped up, don’t worry “everyday is a new year” and start again) was to be even more conscious of this and eat out only once or twice a month – once could be Chick-Fil-A because we got the 2012 Cow-lender and it has a monthly coupon.  Honestly we haven’t been doing too shabby and it’s averaged out to about once a week.    My point is that too often I see families that eat out, especially fast food, for way too many meals!  Around here the lunch hour is even worse soldiers are crammed into the Px area and the line around BK & Taco Bell goes twice around the building!  It’s insane!  The excuse I often here is “I don’t have anytime to cook!”  Well, a blog about excellent lunches will left for another day.  This one is about dinner, and these two recipes are super easy and super yummy and utilize your crock-pot.  They are excellent options for the busy family!  Especially if you’re not all going to be eating at the same time, this is a great way to have a meal ready for whenever you come home.

Honey Bourbon Chicken

(Note: there isn’t any bourbon as in booze in this recipe.  As I learned from the blog post I got this from, the name actually comes from Bourbon St…also, you know I’m a firm believer in the “use what you have” principle so my edits will be in italics)

Recipe inspired by a pin from:

RealMomKitchen.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I had boneless skinless thin cut chicken breasts in my freezer so…”use what you have”)
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/cup diced onion(soon I will post about how I’ve re-harvested green onions so since that’s what I had, it’s what I used plus a few shakes of a chopped onion seasoning that I had in the spice rack)
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce(due to my allergies, I cannot use straight soy sauce so I used teriyaki sauce, yes, I know it still contains soy but my body can handle this much better than pure soy sauce)
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I have a big ole jar of minced garlic so I threw in a heaping tbsp of it)
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes(honestly, I didn’t feel like measuring so I just gave it a few shakes)
  • 1-2 tbsp cornstarch
  • rice (I used instant white rice because we were having this meal right after soccer practice.  You could use any other type of rice though)
  • sesame seeds, optional (these are really just for presentation and I didn’t have any so I wasn’t going to go buy some,  I did serve this meal with some asparagus on the side though because it’s the vege I had on hand)

Directions:

  • Let me simplify this for you…toss everything except the cornstarch, rice & sesame seeds into the crock pot & stir it up real good…cook on low for 3-4 hours…when ready to serve, add the cornstarch with an equivalent amount of water to thicken up the sauce a bit.  Stir it up again and the chicken should just break apart into nice chunks if not then just cut it up a lil.  
  • Serve over cooked rice and sprinkle some sesame seeds on top.
  • ENJOY!

Chicken Tacos

(Sorry I don’t have a pic of this one I may have to add one in next time I make it)

Recipe inspired by a pin from:

Chocolate Therapy

Ingredients:

  • 6 pieces boneless skinless chicken breast (I figured about a pound would work well and again, I had the thin cut on hand – I love it – new fav)
  • 1 package taco seasoning
  • 1 jar salsa, 16 oz (due to allergies I made my own salsa and when I finally make this again I’ll be sure to pay more attention to how I actually make my salsa and post that as well)
Directions:
  • Toss it all into the crock pot and cook on high for 4-6 hours or on low for 6-8 hours.  The chicken naturally shreds – so cool!
  • Serve with taco toppings – it’s best to cut these up at the beginning of the day and just pull them out of the fridge when it’s time to eat.  The first time we had this meal I served it with some shredded mexican style cheese (yes the kind you buy by the packet) lettuce, sour cream and whole wheat tortillas as the shell.
  • ENJOY!

Well, I hope these two Pinteresting recipes help you out and that you enjoy them as much as we did!
Leave a Reply

