Part 9: IT’S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN! (OMG I’M SIGNED UP FOR A MARATHON!?!)

This morning marked 10 days until the Marine Corps Marathon!  Over the past week I’ve received numerous e-mails to help prepare me for the event.  I can’t believe it’s almost here!  While on my run today through the Greensprings Interpretive Trail as numerous White Tailed Dear, Squirrels and other critters crossed our path I thought by golly, in less than 10 days now I’ll have completed my first marathon ever!  I envisioned shadow boxing my running shoes along with some other gear that helped me get to this point.  Then I thought, OK Liz, you’re getting a bit ahead of yourself here!  You still have a little more than a week to go, and when the day arrives you have 26.2 miles to get through!

As I look at my busy schedule of these next 10ish days (yes, even stay at home mom’s can have busy schedules) I get giddy with gladness!  Soon my mom will be here – she’ll be watching my two biggest supporters (Phia & Tedy) the day of the marathon.  Soon we will be heading to NOVA (for you non-Virginia folks that stands for Northern Virginia aka: outside D.C.) to stay at my sisters.  Let me just give major props to my big sis Nancy!  Just before Tedy was born she couldn’t even walk!  When she came down to take care of Phia the weekend Tedy was born she was in this huge leg immobilizer because she suffered a knee injury while snowboarding (ok that made her sound like some bad ass rider but honestly it was a silly accident that she’ll have to tell you about)!  Just 6 months later she ran her first 10K & it was her idea to run it, not mine!  Now on Halloween she’ll be running another 10K – it coincides with the Marine Corps Marathon.  I am so proud of her & all that she has accomplished this past year.  By the way, did I mention that my sister also served in the Army (I like to say it’s a family tradition since our Dad served for 20 some-odd years and Nancy was in for 8ish & her husband Dave was in for 14ish and now Troy is in)!  Nancy & I now have our sights set on running a half marathon in the spring, possibly the Run for the Dream half marathon in Williamsburg.  We also hope to complete a triathlon one day (yes I randomly have a triathlon suit though I’ve never even trained for one)!

Anyways…soon Nancy & I will be attending the expo to pick up our race packets & other swag.  Soon we’ll be attending the 1st time marathoner’s dinner.  Soon I’ll get dressed in my Halloween racing gear (Happy Halloweeniversary Troy) Soon we’ll be boarding the Metro (click on that link & watch the funny Remy video)!  Soon Nancy will be at the Mall & I’ll be at Arlington – our races will start at the same time & finish at the same place – WHAT DO YOU MEAN I HAVE TO CHARGE A HILL TO THE FINISH?!  – though she’ll have to wait a while for me to finish!  Soon it’ll be all over (though it probably won’t feel like soon enough while running)!

OMG I’M SIGNED UP FOR A MARATHON!?!

One thought on “Part 9: IT’S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN! (OMG I’M SIGNED UP FOR A MARATHON!?!)

Leave a Reply

