It’s The Last Day Of Summer!

Today is the last day of summer; which means tomorrow will be the first day of my favorite season, fall!  So what did you do this summer?  I had a very adventurous one!

On Tuesday, May 4th I secured my summer freedom by turning in a letter, keys & cellphone to my place of employment – said my goodbyes and walked out the door!  That is all I’m going to say about that, I do not wish to look back on the details of what brought me to that point.  It was not a happy time in my life and I’ve since turned a leaf to become a more optimistic person.

A few days later I was out walking with my friend Erin and we happened to stumble upon an aid tent for Williamsburg’s Annual Roll or Stroll to Work Day!  Well, we were out for a stroll but technically I was at work already since my new job was being a stay at home mom.  The folks running the tent were nice enough to let us participate in the event and gave us some swag and let us enter a raffle.  Erin and I enjoyed our stroll around Colonial Williamsburg and then went to give our feet some loving by getting pedicures (summer was almost here and un-pedicured toes in the summer is a big no-no!) at New Town Nail Spa.  While our toes were drying I received a phone call saying I won a raffle prize!  So we went to pick up the prize, it was a gift certificate to Bikes Unlimited.  Erin also won something, she got a gift certificate to Retro’s Good Eats, we ended up going out to dinner there later that week.  The weather was gorgeous and the summer was about to unofficially begin, and I was feeling pretty good about things.

I finally got a season pass to Busch Gardens; it was something that Troy and I had discussed many times.  Then one day I went to Ft. Eustis and got our military discounted season pass.  We have had so many fun times there this summer and I am looking forward to going to Howl-O-Scream this fall and enjoying a discounted rate to see Christmas Town this winter.

For Memorial Day weekend my Dad and I traveled out to Indiana with Phia & Tedy to visit Troy’s family.  After this trip though, I decided that it would be one of the last times I would ever drive anywhere through the night!  We did enjoy a nice weekend with Troy’s family!

Just a couple of weeks after that my Dad took a journey with us again.  We were smart this time and booked a hotel around the half way point!  Our journey led us to Ft. Leonard Wood (aka: Ft. Lost In The Woods) Missouri for Troy’s graduation from Army Basic Training.  We met up with Troy’s Mother & Brother there as well.  We were so proud of Troy, and even though we had very little time with him, it was great!  Phia was so proud of her Daddy and now understands, in the way that a two-year-old can, what her Daddy does.  In her words, “Daddy has shiny shoes, he’s in the Army and he marches!”  

We’ve also enjoyed many weekend visits with my sister, Nancy and her husband, Dave.  Yet you can’t forget about all of their dogs: Chuey, Oso, Pi & Inde!  Dave was so kind to rearrange some of his plans for Nancy and I so that we could go on a trip together for 4th of July.  It was Nancy’s crazy idea to run this 10K on the 4th of July but we had a blast!  We trained together as best as we could through the summer heat and on the 4th of July we ran the Harvard Pilgrim 10K, one of the most memorable races ever!  I know I’ve mentioned it before but seriously – it was amazing!  Plus Phia got to participate in her first race as well.  We also got to go to the beach, which was a first for me since July of 2007!  The trip was full of memories though there is one we’d like to forget – we had no air conditioning!  That’s right folks, during the hottest time of the summer, we had no air conditioning – it was miserable!  To make up for it, we went to Bubbling Brook often!

Like I said, this summer has been ridiculously hot!  Yet when it’s nice enough out, we often go to Colonial Williamsburg.  As a treat for putting up with the miles she’s had to endure while being in the jogging stroller as Mommy trains for the Marine Corps Marathon, Phia gets to play in her climbing tree.We unofficially ended the summer with another trip up to New England.  Where I attended the wedding of my dear friend Cait.  It was beautiful, and I am so happy for her and Nick.  It was so nice to see all my Regiville ladies that evening!  It was also nice to see my “Army Family” and I thank them for letting us stay with them.  During this last trip Jessie took Phia to the fair, and she got to see all the farm animals and pet them.  It was such a relaxing weekend, and I am so glad that I was able to take that trip!  By the way, that was the first trip in the new vehicle.  The trip made me realize how truly blessed I am!

For the last weekend of the summer, Troy’s parents came out from Indiana for a Virginia visit.  We did some things in the area that I had never done before, such as tour around Jamestown, ride down the Colonial Parkway and go to the Yorktown Victory Center.

Finally, for the last day of the summer, I’ve brought everything full circle.  I enjoyed a nice walk this morning with my dear friend Lynette.  Erin came with us as well.  We walked the loop around my previous place of employment, I saw a couple of my friends and said hi to them as they drove by.  Later on, my friend Tiffany texted me telling me that I looked great.  This is something that folks have been telling me lately.  I am not completely where I want to be but I’m getting there.

I will let you know this though, I started out the summer a size 12 and am now a size 8.  I am proud to say that I’ve lost about 30 pounds and I feel healthier than ever!  In the past I would get these horrible knots in my shoulders and since that fateful day just before the beginning of the summer, a weight was literally lifted off my shoulders, and I haven’t had pain like that since.  I’ve started reading again, exercising, eating healthier, and being more positive & optimistic.  Now that fall is coming, I can truly say that I’ve turned a new leaf, and let go!  I am looking forward to whatever life has in store for me, happily.  I used to dread the start of each new day, now I savor it and thank God that He’s given me this day to live!  I have the greatest job in the entire world!  I want to let you in on one more little secret of mine; the weekend before I took a huge step to changing my life, I read a little book called Who Moved My Cheese? By Spencer Johnson and it opened my eyes to make me realize that I really needed to make a change in my life!  If any of you are struggling with anything right now, know that you are in my prayers.  Like I said, I thank God for giving me the strength to do what I needed to do in order to change my life for the better.  Therefor, everyday I pray for those that need the strength to make changes in their lives, whatever it may be, so that they can lead a happy healthy life!

Hope you had a great summer, here’s to an amazing autumn!

2 thoughts on “It’s The Last Day Of Summer!

Leave a Reply

