WTF WAS I THINKING SIGNING UP FOR A MARATHON?!?!?!??! (Part 1: looking back at my past 10Ks)

This is part 1 of a crazy thing that I did last year…I signed up for the Marine Corps Marathon!  Towards the end of my pregnancy with Tedy I decided it would be a good idea to sign up for a marathon – Troy tells me that Bill Simmons (The Sports Guy) says something like women get 12% crazier when they have children (I’ll have to Tweet Bill Simmons to see if he’ll comment) so according to that theory I’m about 24% crazier than I was 2 1/2 years ago!

In order to get a number for the Marine Corp Marathon I signed up for the Run to Register 10K that was held on March 27th – Tedy was just 11 weeks old – good thing he came a couple of weeks early & was an easy delivery so I recovered well – yet I didn’t get to train much because we had crazy snowy weather this year & we were snowed in over and over again!  Anyways I completed that race on a freezing cold morning in 1 hour 10 minutes 29 seconds!  I was proud of myself & for some dumb reason thought that running the Irish Sprint after was a good idea as well and I’m not sure about my mile time for that event because I accidentally folded up my bib and messed up the sensor – fancy new technology – LOL!  I felt pretty good though and like I was on a good road to completing my first marathon – the fish pedicure later that afternoon was amazing!

With the marathon fresh in my mind – because my serious training has now begun and the countdown clock at http://www.marinemarathon.com says I have 74 days and 20 some odd hours left – I think back to how I got into this running stuff in the first place.  It goes back to me being very little and very active (much like how Phia is now I’m told, I guess that shouldn’t be a surprise) and running around playing.  Then at Case Junior High School in Watertown, New York I participated in Track & Field (wasn’t much good, just really enjoyed the social aspect and would run the most random races and do triple jump, etc).  When I got to High School at Dedham High School in Dedham, Massachusetts I though I should continue to participate in Track & Field and I ran indoor and outdoor track.  OMG indoor winter track was so boring and I recall feeling like I lived at the Reggi Lewis Center in Boston (www.rltac.com).  So that didn’t last and again I was never much good at it anyways – never placed or anything, and I dreaded our run’s down Madison or Jefferson Street (oh Presidents – who knew I’d end up living in Virginia where they hailed from).  So to me it’s funny (ironic) that the year I don’t participate in High School Track that my mom wakes me up on the last Sunday in April and tells me we’re going to the James Joyce Ramble – well no duh mom, we always do, it’s an amazing Dedham tradition (that’s a blog post on its own one day) – oh no but this year we are going to run it!  What?  Me?  My Mom?  For some reason I said yes and we headed to the race (this would be its last year on the older course before everything started and finished at Endicott Estate).

On Sunday, April 30, 2000 I participated in my first official road race – the James Joyce Ramble – a 10K though Dedham, Massachusetts and without any official training completed it in 1 hour 4 minutes and 12 seconds!  After the race I thought to myself – that wasn’t too bad, I think I’ll do it again next year.  On Sunday, April 29, 2001 I participated in my second James Joyce Ramble yet foolish me didn’t really train again, just played lacrosse but I completed it in 1 hour 2 minutes and 40 seconds – so there was a little improvement from the year before.  With a new course, I fell in love with the James Joyce Ramble (yes the title idea for my blog was inspired by it).  On Sunday, April 28, 2002 my time improved a bit more (still no training & not really playing a sport but managing the Regis College Softball team) I finished in 1 hour 1 minute and 38 seconds.  On Sunday, April 27, 2003 still not officially training for it this year I saw a huge improvement and finally finished in under an hour at 56 minutes and 36 seconds.  I can’t seem to find my 2004 time and don’t remember if I participated or not – that was the year that my two of my best friends, Cait & Isabel were bandits and ran the Boston Marathon and the year that I had a stupid knee injury from lacrosse practice.  On Sunday, April 24, 2005 the first year that I actually started training I finished in 54 minutes and 26 seconds (my best time for any 10K).  I did not participate in 2006 or 2007 because I was away at grad school (2006) in Nashville, Tennessee (and still living there in 2007).  On Sunday, April 27, 2008 just 3 weeks out of the hospital and Phia was just 3 months old I completed it in 1 hour 16 minutes and 42 seconds.  I did not participate in 2009 because of how busy work was and we had just moved into our new home in Williamsburg, Virginia but this year, 2010 I participated again and on Sunday, April, 25th I completed it in 1 hour 8 minutes and 35 seconds.

My sister Nancy thought it would be a good idea for her to run a 10K this year.  At first I thought she was insane because she suffered a major knee injury at the beginning of the year.  Then I realized that she wasn’t crazy just a huge New England Patriots fan!  So we ran the 1st ever race to end in Gillette Stadium!  On Sunday, July 4th we ran the Harvard Pilgrim 10K.  My time wasn’t that great (1 hour 18 minutes and 23 seconds) but all I really cared about was the finish!  We got to run through the tunnel, then through the helmet & onto the field to the finish at the 50 yard line – it was amazing & the 3rd greatest moment in my life!  I’ll have to write more about that race another day.

Well, I know I can run a 10K without much training and finish around an hour.  Yet the Marine Corps Marathon is over 4x more than that!  OH MY!  All in all though I think I can do it, and I’m glad that my sister will be participating in the Marine Corps 10K that same day – it’s motivating to know that my craziness has rubbed off on her!

One thought on “WTF WAS I THINKING SIGNING UP FOR A MARATHON?!?!?!??! (Part 1: looking back at my past 10Ks)

  1. Marie says:

    yes I think people who run are crazy!!!! I just ran my first 10 k last weekend (I have never ran just played soccer in grade school/hs) when it was about 95 degrees outside with a lot of humidty!! lol!! So my first half marathon is Nov. 7….pray for me!! I will pray for you too…good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

