Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

For some reason I keep thinking about all of the amazing things that have happened to me these past five years, and five years ago if you told me any of it was going to happen I probably wouldn’t have believed you!

Five years ago I was on a Pilgrimage to Germany for the 20th World Youth Day (Pope Benedict XVI’s first World Youth Day & first major trip as Pope)!  Who would have guess that five years later a Benedictine monk is my source for spiritual guidance (www.richmondmonks.org)?!

Five years ago after that trip I started graduate school at Vanderbilt Divinity School in Nashville, Tennessee.  I began working on my Master’s of Theological Studies in hopes of becoming a Theology teacher.  Who would have guessed that I would leave Vandy with a MRS not a MTS though I’m still a MS 😉  I met my future husband at VDS we had 3/4 classes together our 4th class we had the same Prof though, the famous AJ Levine.  In our Hebrew Bible aka Old Testament  aka the DAK show class I sat next to Troy and not really knowing who he was at the time I would smack him as he fell asleep during lecture.  Then there was our Jay Geller class, Aspects of World Religiosity, we all attempted to figure out what the class was all about and to this day we still don’t really know!  Finally there was Koine Greek, and although he made fun of them Troy was secretly jealous of my flash cards and the crazy methods I had for memorizing things.  Who would have guessed that just a few years later we would have our first child together and name her Sophia after the Greek word for Wisdom?!

Five years ago I worked four jobs to make ends meet – Vandy Reunion Office, Vandy Business Alumni Relations Office, Centennial High School girls Lax and Maryland Farms YMCA.  I of course had to give up my fun Vandy jobs when I stopped going to VDS (the sick disease of the school struck me so hard I opted out – Troy took an extra dose & finished in 2 1/2 years) then the Lax team well yea, I was done with that gig.  Yet I had an amazing experience at the Maryland Farms YMCA in Brentwood, Tennessee; part of the YMCA of Middle Tennessee Association.  I quickly worked my way up through the Aquatics ranks there but then as graduation for Troy drew nearer my desire to leave Nashville increased – I was homesick in a landlocked state!  Yet it’s ironic that every now & again there are bits & pieces that I miss about living in Music City.

Five years ago if you told me I would be married with two beautiful children and be an Army Wife and “stay at home Mom” I would have thought you were insane!  Yet I would not change it for the world, and as I sing Ben Fold’s Lullaby to my babies almost every night (now Sophia sings along and hopefully Tedy will one day as well) I feel extremely blessed!

Five years have gone by quickly – time flies when you’re having fun!  Yet it has not been all fun and games for sure.  There have been struggles and sad times.  I’ve come close to death a couple of times and seen death as well.  Some deaths that I never wanted to see.  Yet I know there is a God and He loves me and has helped me through these past five years and will continue to help me in all my remaining time, however long that may be.

I have hopes and dreams for the future but truly I can only live for today.  So to quote a line from the movie Bella (if you have not seen it I highly recommend it): “If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans.”

2 thoughts on “Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

  1. michelle523 says:

    five years ago we met. so weird!! I was in some of those VDS classes too. Ah, the DAK.

    Miss you like crazy. The last five years have been crazy for both of us. I never would have guessed my fate either.

    Love ya.

Leave a Reply

