CARPE DIEM!

For those of you that need to brush up on your Latin, CARPE DIEM means SEIZE THE DAY – it was made famous in an Ode by Horace.  It is one phrase that I have tried to live my life by because as Horace goes on his ode, quam minimum credula postero (trusting as little as possible in the next) you never really know what the future is going to hold.

Lately I have truly seized my days and also conquered many fears along the way.  Now that I am an Army Wife (funny thing that I grew up an Army Brat) I’ve had to learn to do many things for my family and support my husband’s service to our Country by doing things that I hate (sorry Mom, I know you say that hate is a powerful word but really, I hate to do these things).

Here is my short list of things I HATE TO DO:

  • washing the dishes (don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love to cook, as you can probably tell from my other posts but I cannot stand doing the dishes!  This is one of the reasons why I married Troy, I love a man with dish pan hands!)
  • putting the laundry away (I don’t mind doing the laundry but there is something dreadful about moving it from the dryer and to its rightful place in the closet or dress.  Ask Nicole, my longest roommate at Regiville, she can testify to how horrible I was about putting my clothes away, I barely slept in my bed because that’s where I would put clean clothes & the dirty ones would just pile up in my closet.  I’ll admit that I spent the entire day yesterday doing laundry and putting clothes away because Tedy’s crib was serving as a laundry basket for clean clothes, it’s a good thing he has a pack-n-play to sleep in.  Yet I am done now & vow to keep up with the laundry so I don’t have to do that again).
  • going to the dump (ICK!  This one is the worst!  As a child my chore was to go around the house & gather all of the trash from the little trash cans so that wasn’t too bad.  It’s not also too bad to bring it out to the trash receptacle.  Yet that final step, going to the dump – ick – I feel like I’m going to vomit every time)!

Yet lately I’ve had to suck it up, “grow a pair” and do the things that I HATE DOING!  It honestly hasn’t been too bad but if anyone wants to come over and help with any of those three tasks (especially the going to the dump bit) please feel free to come on over!

I want to give a huge shout out to my friend Erin – she has really helped me out these past few months with all of these daunting tasks.  At one point the kids didn’t have a bedroom because it was chock full of old baby clothes and oh yea all my clean clothes.  She’s been the one to force me to stick to it and take things little by little to complete the task.  One day she came over and we went through all of the baby clothes (mainly Sophia’s)!  I would not have been able to complete this task without her because she was the voice of reason being like really, you’re going to keep that?  In the end we pretty much filled the kitchen with garbage bags full of baby clothes to be donated and still I have five large tote bins of clothes that were good enough to keep (hopefully we’ll have another baby girl one day).  With her guidance I’ve now made a list of things to complete, one task a day so that I don’t overwhelm myself, and I will have to say that I’ve been fairly successful.  Yesterday’s goal was the laundry and kids room – check.  Today was trash and the car (with her help of watching Tedy) – check.  Tomorrow is the playroom, Wednesday is the living room & finally steam clean the couches (I’ve only been talking about that all year) Thursday I’m going to take off and Friday do the bathrooms.  Now that’s just this week so hopefully once I complete the task I’ll be able to keep it neat and stay on track.

Before Troy went off to BCT (for you non-Army folks aka: Basic Combat Training or Boot Camp) he joked that when he returns home, he’ll feel like McFly in Back to the Future because of all the things I want to do with our house.  He probably will just with the cleanliness.  I’m not saying that we are dirty, it’s just that we have stuff (I loved George Carlin’s routine about “stuff”)!  Oh wait there’s one more thing that I hate – my floors!  I so desperately want new floors in our house – the carpet is nasty!  Yet we bought this house over other’s because it was the only thing that really needed to be replaced.  So if you all want to pitch in for me to get new floors for my Birthday/Christmas (my Birthday is coming up in just three months – October 16th – mark your calendars) that would be great!  I would really like to come home on my Birthday and see nice snap laminate flooring being installed!  Hey like I’ve said before, I’m a dreamer!

CARPE DIEM – SEIZE THE DAY!  Currently for me it means – get your act in gear to make the house a bit nicer so you can feel confident about having folks over.  Some days it means something else – like when I start my marathon training…well that’s a story for another day.  For you with whatever you do make sure you seize your day!

One thought on “CARPE DIEM!

  1. Christine says:

    I can so relate to this blog entry:)
    #1 on my list: Having to deal with anything related to our vehicles….oil changes, flat tires, etc……

Leave a Reply

